Fred Yates prize

The Fred Yates prize

2022Dr Claire Garnett, University College London, UK

For having carved out a unique area of work through development of the Drink Less smartphone app; achieving three grants as PI linked to this area of work; having achieved numerous first author publications with evidence of high impact with over 1,200 citations; for her work with PHE and NICE and regular participation in media work – all examples of her contribution to the field, and for her clear dedication to the addiction field specifically, we are proud to award to Dr Claire Garnett the SSA Fred Yates prize in 2022.

The prize will be awarded at the annual SSA Conference to a researcher who is in the earlier stages of her or his career who has made a significant and specific contribution to the addictions field in recent years. The recipient of the prize will receive £2,000 and a certificate which includes the words ‘for a significant contribution to the work of the addictions field’. The recipient will be invited to present his or her research at that year’s Conference, for which his or her attendance expenses will be reimbursed, up to a maximum of £500.

2014 winner of the Fred Yates prize, Dr Frances Kay-Lambkin, talks about her research:

Nominees must:

  • be a Member or Associate of the SSA
  • be nominated by a Member or Associate of the SSA
  • be in the early stages of their research career, no more than five years* since attaining a graduate or post-graduate qualification
  • be an active researcher in the field of addiction
  • have one or more publications (or manuscripts accepted for publication) in the previous 12 months, and a minimum of two publications in the previous five years
  • have demonstrated enthusiasm and potential future leadership. This may be through developing a novel programme of work or contributing to new or improved clinical practice or an enhanced understanding of addiction

*As at 1 November of relevant nomination period.

Nominations from SSA Members / Associates open on 1 November and are to be received by 24:00 (GMT), 31 January. A selection panel of three individuals is appointed each year from the SSA’s Board of Trustees.

Nominations for 2022 have now closed.

The SSA Fred Yates prize for Researcher of the Year

In recognition of a significant contribution to research and practice in the addictions field.

Fred Yates made a significant contribution to addiction studies, particularly with respect to the evaluation of alcohol treatment services and the various applications of computing in our field. After obtaining an Honours degree in Psychology at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne and a PhD at the University of Birmingham. In 1975 Fred joined the Alcoholism Rehabilitation Research Group in Birmingham under the directorship of Dr Hugh Norris. In 1981 he became a research psychologist in the University Department of Psychiatry in Newcastle where he worked closely with Dr Anthony Thorley and other colleagues. This was followed by a spell from 1985-88 as Research Officer for the Turning Point Organisation, following which Fred established his own research agency (ASSES: Action from Scientific Service Evaluation Studies) to provide computer support for the voluntary sector at below commercial rates, to carry out commissioned research and to develop research interest in therapeutic computer applications. Of his many publications, probably the best known concern his analysis of ‘the use made of treatment’ by clients of alcohol problems agencies and his epidemiological and preventive work for the Health Education Council on drinking in two north-east towns. Fred sadly passed away after a short illness at South Cleveland Hospital on 21 November 1996 at the age of 46. Although tragically incomplete, his work will have made a lasting impression on the field and an important contribution to the welfare of those with alcohol and drug problems.

Fred was the kindest and gentlest of men and he was widely liked and respected as a result. He managed to combine a sharp intelligence with a genuine humanity and warmth of personality and the Society is therefore delighted and honoured to give an award bearing his name.

Dr Nick Heather, Northumbria University

Past winners:

2021Dr Sarah Jackson, University College London, UK

2020Dr Gemma Taylor, University of Bath, UK

2019 – Joint winners:

  • Dr Hamid Noori, Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics, Tübingen, Germany
  • Dr Kyla Thomas, University of Bristol and South Gloucestershire Council, UK

2018 – Dr Andrew McAuley, Health Protection Scotland & Glasgow Caledonian University, UK

2017 – Dr Andrew Jones, University of Liverpool, UK

2016 – Dr Leonie Brose, Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience, King’s College London, UK

2015 – Dr Jamie Brown, University College London, Health Behaviour Research Centre, UK

2014 – Dr Frances Kay-Lambkin, University of New South Wales, Australia

2013 – Dr Jaime Delgadillo, University of York, UK

2012 – Dr Bridgette Bewick, University of Leeds, UK

2011 –  Inaugural year (joint winners):

  • Dr Jodie Trafton, Stanford University Medical School, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, USA
  • Dr Simon Adamson, National Addiction Centre, New Zealand